So You’re Going for an Interview: Know This

Hello all, and welcome to the introductory post to a three-part interview preparation series brought to you by These words are my own.  So you’re going for an interview…

You spent weeks hunting down the perfect job or internship opportunities, and after following up once or twice and praying for the best, you’ve finally landed an interview!  About 24 hours before the big meeting, you might begin to freak out, riddling yourself with anxieties and insecurities and wondering whether or not you’re likable enough.

giphy.com:gifs:sad-snl-crying-zAEI5dkI5mPaE

giphy.com

First, try relaxing into a meditative state for a few moments, then remind yourself that you are Beyoncé.  Second, calm your nerves by knowing the answers to a certain group of crucial questions that pertain to 1) your potential job, 2) your potential employer and 3) your skills.  Test yourself with these:

  • What relevant classwork/work experience do you have that makes you qualified for this job?
  • What specific skills do you have that make you an asset to the company/brand/team?
  • What are your strengths?  What are your weaknesses?
  • Why are you interested in this position within this company?

giphy.com

Finally, be prepared to ask a few questions of your own throughout the interview, but especially toward the end.  This shows your potential employer that you have been engaged in the conversation and really care to fully know what you’ll get out of the job, if hired.  Some important things to touch upon include…

  • What skills can I expect to cultivate and develop throughout the length of the internship/employment period?
  • What will a normal day look like if I am to be offered, and I accept, this position?
  • Is this a paid position?  If so, how much are you willing to pay me?  How often?
  • Can I expect to collaborate with my co-workers fairly often, or will I mostly be working on my own?

Now that you’re prepared to say all the right things and do a decent amount of humble bragging about your skills and expertise, you can offer your potential employer a hard copy of your work portfolio.  (That is, if they haven’t asked for one during the interview already.)  In part two of the So You’re Going for an Interview series, we’ll cover what materials, exactly, you should bring with you to present and how you should present them.

giphy.com

What techniques do you use to study and prepare for the meaty Q-and-A portion of the interview process?  Can you think of any commonly-asked questions that I missed here?  Let me know!

21 thoughts on “So You’re Going for an Interview: Know This

  1. Samantha Katherine Bender says:

    I think this is pretty great advice. When I had my first interview for my current job, it was over the phone so I marked up my resume with notes, comments, and questions. I really studied what was on there so nothing caught me off guard. Even though you know yourself and what you’ve done, sometimes you’re so nervous that you can’t think as quickly as you usually do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

