The Half Bun: A Love-Hate Relationship

Lately, it appears as though a new, messy, lazy-day hairstyle has been added to the repertoire of braids, buns and ponytails.  Not unlike Ariana Grande’s signature ‘do, the new half bun trend takes advantage of the fact that some things are better when done only halfway.  The look is unavoidable, as seen on celebrities and street style stars alike.  Now, some of my friends are trying it!

purewow.com

purewow.com

studio1505.com

While I’m still on the fence about the half-up ‘do as a whole, I admit it is possible to rock the look.  For whatever reason, I just haven’t yet had the courage to try it out for myself.  I don’t do things unless I’m almost completely sold on the idea, so until that happens, I’ll just keep Googling and Pinning until I reach my verdict.

capricho.abril.com.br

capricho.abril.com.br

The good news is that this look works on a variety of different textures, styles and lengths, so whether your hair is naturally kinky and curly (like mine) or falls pin straight, you can still be included in the trend.

What do y’all think about the half bun?  I’m still so undecided!

20 thoughts on “The Half Bun: A Love-Hate Relationship

  1. A Peachy Sonder says:

    I’m so torn about this look- I definitely appreciate it on others but I’m not sure that I could ever see myself wearing it out of the house! This is more what my hair looks like when I’m cleaning and half falls out of my bun, or atleast that’s what I think I look like! haha

    Like

  2. trendychelsea says:

    Go for it girl! I’ve seriously been obsessed with this look! My only constant debate is whether to make my bun a ballet bun or messy bun. I never seem to have enough hair to do a cute messy bun, so it always looks scraggly. Sigh*
    xo! Chelsea // trendychelsea.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. sparkleandshinesami says:

    After seeing it so many times on Pinterest and in vlogs, I decided to try and do it one day when I was home, just to see how it would look. On me, I looked like a wannabe 90’s grunge rockstar!

    I would definitely say try it out one day you’re home (though that is definitely rare!) and then decide if you want to rock it outside of your house.

    XOXO,
    Sami

    Like

  4. courtney says:

    I’ve been tempted to try this hairstyle, but I feel like my hair was not meant to be styled, even when I don’t try it never looks cute lol

    Like

  5. Allison Ellzey (@allison_ellzey) says:

    I’m with you–on the fence! It looks like it would be right up my alley though because most of the time in the summer I don’t feel like straightening my hair, and it’s too curly to wear ALL down. But at the same time, it looks like how I get ready and straighten my hair haha

    Like

  6. Annie says:

    I am totally loving the half bun trend!! It definitely took a while for me to get used to, because normally I like my buns big (oh dear…) but I kind of like the little bun knob now.

    Annie // Annie N Belle

    Like

  7. Ashley says:

    I’m still on the fence about this look too!!! It looks so effortless and easy, but I just don’t know if I could pull it off! However, these pictures have me wanting to give it a try ASAP.

    xo Ashley
    Twenties Girl Style

    Like

  8. Kelly says:

    You know, if it’s a lower one like that last picture, I don’t mind it so much, but I despise the higher one. Ughhh. But oh well. I support people loving what they love haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

