Product Review: Exuviance Illumination Duo (and Bonus Products!)

I have done product reviews for several beauty brands in the past six months, and I would be lying if I said receiving free samples in the mail and trying out new cosmetics isn’t tons of fun.  Up until this point, I have never worked so closely with such a prestigious beauty brand as Exuviance.  Thus, I am proud to present to you my product review for the brand’s new Illumination Duo!

Exuviance was created by Drs. Van Scott and Yu, who are widely recognized around the world as “leaders in the field of dermatology.”  The two doctors were the first to discover the anti-aging benefits of glycolic acid.  Together, they created and patented the first glycolic peel known to dermatology.  Their use of patented anti-aging ingredients and formulas is supported by evidence from scientific and clinical studies alike.  They created Exuviance, a prestigious, world renowned beauty brand, by “combining their patented innovations with the best state-of-the-art technologies available to dermatology today.”

The Exuviance Illumination Duo is made up of two powerful products: the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster and the Evening Restorative Complex.  When combined and used as instructed, this “potent anti-aging cocktail” works to combat the visible signs of aging and help the skin protect itself against future damage.

Exuviance Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster

  • helps fade dark spots while improving firmness and smoothing wrinkles
  • combines Vitamin C and Aceta-C (a patented super antioxidant that enhances Vitamin C’s effects)
  • strengthens skin’s matrix, improves firmness, and smoothes wrinkles
  • fades the appearance of unwanted dark spots and strengthens the skin’s defenses against future signs of aging and discoloration
  • formula does not contain water or filler ingredients, making the product 100% active and beneficial to you

Exuviance Evening Restorative Complex

  • clinically proven to improve skin texture, tone, and appearance
  • 90% of users saw smoother skin after 4 weeks, according to data from NeoStrata Co., Inc.
  • decreases lines and wrinkles, evens skin tone, and improves roughness
  • inhibits wrinkles from forming, plumps and firms skin, and enhances clarity
  • combines polyhydroxy acid gluconolactone, lactobionic acid (an antioxidant), and Vitamins A, C, and E

How I used it:

The instructions on the box that came with the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Boostersay that you can mix the booster power with a daily moisturizer or serum.  Since I prefer using moisturizers at night and lighter serums during the day, I combined the Antiaging Booster with a daily serum.  (I also received a small sample of Exuviance’s Collagen Triple Boost Serum, so that’s what I used; more on that below!)

Before beginning my daily makeup routine, I combined a small amount of serum with two to three shakes of the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster powder and applied the lightweight concoction to my face.  After waiting a few minutes for the products to absorb into my skin, I applied my makeup as I normally would.

I preferred to use the Evening Restorative Complex on its own as a nightly moisturizer.  (I should note that Exuviance says that you can also combine the complex with the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster at night to amp up the effects of the complex and improve skin in a matter of hours.  I chose not to do this simply because I figured using the booster once a day was enough.)  After washing my face with my regularly used face wash and removing any eye makeup residue, I patted my face dry and applied two small pumps of the complex to my face and neck.  After that, it was off to bed!

A quick look at the bonus products:

Exuviance was kind enough to send me two additional sample products.  I received the Performance Peel AP25 and the Collagen Triple Boost Serum.

The peel was designed to improve fine lines and wrinkles in two easy steps.  You apply the activator pad to a clean, dry face and monitor your skin’s response based on redness, tingling, stinging, and tightness.  After about 10 minutes, or once your skin begins to show signs of discomfort, you apply the neutralizer pad.  Then all it takes is a quick rinse of water and a nightly moisturizer.

The serum was designed to maximize the skin’s natural collagen levels and help it to build new collagen to protect itself.  A small dose of the serum is to be applied to a clean, dry face and can be used either in the morning or evening.  The serum can also be applied under other skin treatments or a daily/nightly moisturizer.  As I said before, I used the serum and a few shakes of the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster at the beginning of every day to keep me looking alert and alive no matter what the day threw at me.

What I thought of it all:

I must say that I am really, really into the Evening Restorative Complex as a nightly moisturizer.  It smells heavenly, but not too perfume-y, and it honestly felt like a body butter for my face.  Unlike other moisturizers, it is thicker than a lotion, which means that after a proper eight hours of sleep, I woke up with refreshed, smoothed, healed skin.

The Collagen Triple Boost Serum was the perfect amount of light coverage and provided enough moisture to keep my skin looking plump all day.  (I assume the Vitamin C+ Antiaging Booster contributed to my skin’s firm appearance, as well.  Speaking of which, the booster powder was lightweight and unscented and mixed perfectly into the serum.  I didn’t know that there had been another product added at all!)

I was also thoroughly impressed with the drastic differences that I noticed after using the Performance Peel AP25 just once or twice.  My skin felt smoother, tighter, and firmer right after rinsing the peel off and applying the restorative moisturizer.  When I woke up the morning after using the peel, I felt like I was glowing. #peelchallenge

Exuviance’s line of products left my skin glowing for days, and I am confident that if I continue use this specific regimen with these specific products, I will reap the rewards.

How you can get it all:

If you want to be as satisfied with your skin as I have been, try any or all of these Exuviance products today, available at ULTA or online.

Are you a new or loyal user of Exuviance skin care products, or did you receive the same samples I did?  What did you think about the above products?  Did you find as much success with them?  I’m interested in reading your own personal reviews.  Feel free to comment, loves!

This post is powered by BrandBacker.

Leave a Reply

