Mini Mall Haul

Hey hey, everyone!  Happy Hump Day!  You’re halfway through the workweek and one step closer to another glorious weekend.

Of course, this also means that the start of the fall semester is fast approaching.  Before we know it, us college students will be barreling forward into another few jam-packed months.  I’ve been preparing for the start of school by making small changes to my work space, using a daily planner, and getting caught up on university-related emails.

This time of transition also requires that we consider shifting to a more autumn-appropriate wardrobe.  Say hello to leggings, booties, and light sweaters galore!  I have to admit that fall is one of my favorite seasons fashion-wise; I find it easy to dress for the weather.

Anyway, these were the things that I was considering when I took a brief trip to the mall yesterday.  Take a look at the stuff I’m most excited about wearing and the new products that I can’t wait to try:

Cropped Bead Embellished French Terry Jacket // Express

Woven Polka Dot Shirt // Forever 21

Camoflauge Printed Tee (similar) // Forever 21

Tropical Print Cosmetics Pouch (similar) // Forever 21

Lace-Waist Hiphugger Panty // Victoria’s Secret

Eucalyptus Spearmint Travel Size Body Wash // Bath & Body Works

I received a coupon from the September issue of Cosmo, valid at Express for $25 off a $50 purchase.  The opportunity was too good to pass up, so I walked into the mall knowing I would leave with a beautiful, versatile piece from Express.

The French Terry Jacket is lightweight enough to be worn as a cardigan but heavy enough to keep away an early autumn morning chill.  The pearl detailing on the cuffs is super classy, and the cut and fit of the jacket itself will make any outfit look perfectly polished.  (Pssst!  To receive Express coupons like the one I used in this purchase, text “COSMO” to 397-737.  You’re welcome.)

Shopping at Forever 21 can be both difficult and exhilarating, simply because there is such a vast amount and variety of products on the sales floor.  I stuck with the plan to keep an eye out for fall staples that would fit in with the rest of my fairly well-developed wardrobe.

I was really excited when I came across the Woven Polka Dot Shirt because it combined a classic silhouette with a spunky pop of pattern.  The material is stretchy enough that I can move in it while its buttoned up, and the shirt is flattering instead of bulky the way some collared shirts can be.

The Camoflauge Printed Tee combined the perfect hues of green, tan, brown, and black.  (As an Army brat, I should know!)  The sleeves are sewn to create a little cuff, which I love!  I imagine I’ll be wearing this graphic look with leggings a lot this season.

I also snagged a funky Tropical Print Cosmetics Pouch at Forever, perfect for stashing my feminine necessities and keeping organized throughout the semester.

I used two additional coupons before my mall trip was over.  The first was for a free Hiphugger Panty from Victoria’s Secret.  I opted for the lace-waist version because– duh– lace is pretty.  And the flowers were just too cute.  Free undies?  I won’t complain!

The other coupon was for a free travel-sized item (hand lotion or body wash) from the Signature Collection at Bath & Body Works.  I love all of their new aromatherapy products– the “stress relief” set, in particular– so I was happy to find the mini Eucalyptus Spearmint Body Wash.  Although I’m fairly certain the aromatherapy products don’t fall under the Signature Collection category, I was given the OK to use the coupon that I had.

(Update: As I was taking a break from writing this post, I tried this body wash in the shower, and I am HOOKED.  The scent calmed me right away and made me feel even more relaxed than I normally would in a hot shower.  It also sudsed up really quickly and generously.  I’ll definitely be back to get this product in full size.)

So while this is a small haul, it’s a haul nonetheless.  I didn’t spend a ton of money, but I still walked out of the mall with things that I know I will use constantly.  What’s better than that?

Now that fall is almost with us, how are you preparing to tackle the transition?  What products or wardrobe staples are you counting on to get you through the semester?  Do you have any suggestions for what I could buy the next time I go shopping?  I’d love to hear it all!  Feel free to comment or leave a link to a post similar to this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

