Getting Lost This Summer

One of my favorite parts about having a break from school, especially during the summer, is that it gives me time to do what I have always loved best: read!  I have been a book worm for as long as I can remember.  (I credit Dr. Seuss for getting me hooked on books at a young age; the bookshelves in my childhood bedroom were always overflowing.)  Reading has always been my favorite pastime, followed closely by writing. If you’ll let me, I’ll read a novel a day.

Now that I have some time off from textbooks, I’ll be able to fly through best-sellers, enjoy beach reads, and spend plenty of late nights cuddled up with many a good book.  I’m currently reading I Like You Just the Way I Am by Jenny Mollen (review coming soon– stay tuned!), but I also have my eye on several other novels of interest…

image

Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant // Veronica Roth

I’m usually not very picky when it comes to which genre I read, but I was always a bit hesitant about science fiction.  Then The Hunger Games came along, and I was sold.  I’ve heard plenty of good things about Divergent from fellow Hunger Games fans, and while I’m tempted to see the first film of the installment, I also know that the books are almost always better than the movies.  Shailene Woodley will have to wait.

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. // Adelle Waldman

Waldman’s novel was first featured in an issue of Cosmopolitan from a while back, and I recently saw it mentioned in Peoplemagazine as a fantastic summer read.  As a young, realistic, honest woman who subscribes to many feminist ideals, I’m sure that the main characters’ actions in this novel will make me cringe.  Nonetheless, there are always lessons to be learned, and some of the best may come from this book.

The Fault in Our Stars // John Green

According to my “research”, The Fault in Our Stars may be the most “popular” on my list.  I first heard about this young adult romance novel on Tumblr, which– I must admit– made me quite hesitant.  I was quick to assume that it was one of those things that Internet hipsters obsess over and then quickly dump a few weeks later.  Alas, like many other popular novels of its day, this storyline has been made to fit the big screen, and because the movie looks interesting, I’ll have to read the book first.

Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior // Leonard Mlodinow

I just happened to come across this book while browsing the shelves of Urban Outfitters.  (Again, I’m trying to avoid intentionally being a hipster but am also kind of still being one, accidentally.)  I was talking with someone a few weeks ago about how your subconscious thoughts can be very powerful and can even contribute to a form of self-sabotage.  I’m declaring a minor in psychology this semester, so I think this book could provide a lot of food for thought.

I’m so, so, so excited that I’ll have time to tackle each of these exciting stories and get lost in worlds that are different than my own.  If you know you’re a book nerd like me and would like to suggest some other books to add to my list, or simply let me know what you thought of the titles I plan on reading, feel free to leave a comment or two below! : )

Leave a Reply

